How to read deleted WhatsApp messages

WhatsApp recently rolled out a new feature called “delete for everyone” that lets sender delete the message from the receiver’s phone. This is quite a handy feature if the message is sent by mistake and rescues you from awkward situations. However, the sender can only revoke the messages that are sent 1hr 8min back or earlier.

Does “delete for everyone” really deletes the messages from the receiver device?

No. The messages sent to the device can be easily accessed via Notification register. The Notification register holds the data of all notifications. So, whenever a WhatsApp message notification received, the data of the notification gets stored in the notification register.

The deleted messages can still be revoked. Messages are not vanishing, they are just hiding. All you have to do is dig them out.

Method 1

  1. Go to the Home Screen on your Android phone.
  2. Long press (tap and hold) the free space in the home screen.
  3. Select widgets, and find the Settings widget on the list.
  4. Long press the settings widget and place it in the home screen. A screen appears offering you a list of options.
  5. Select “Notification log” option.
  6. That’s it. Click on the logo to access the Notification logs.

You can access the notifications from the past and also the deleted WhatsApp messages.

This method works on all stock android devices. Certains devices like Honor, Samsung might not support this feature.

If you are using any custom launcher like Nova, then it is easy to access notification log.

  • Long press the home screen
  • then tap on Widgets
  • Activities
  • Settings
  • Notification log.

relatedView Friend’s WhatsApp Status without letting him know.

Method 2

If your mobile doesn’t support the above method, then this method is for you. This method uses a third party app to access your notification log.

  1. Download the app from the play store.
  2. Give all permissions it asked for.
  3. That’s it. This app starts storing all your notifications and displays them in an organized way.

Method 3

This method involves a third party illegal version of WhatsApp. Since this is a moded version, there is no any assurance of data security. Use it at your own risk.

If you can overlook the above-mentioned issues, then you have a moded version of the WhatsApp which has a lot of functionalities that normal WhatsApp doesn’t like custom themes, hiding blue ticks, WhatsApp status download…etc

  1. Download GB WhatsApp from this link.
  2. While you are on the chats section, click on the three dot icon on the top right corner.
  3. Select privacy.
  4. Click on Enable Anti-Revoke” option present at the bottom.
  5. That’s it. App restarts and the changes apply.
  6. The next time your friend deletes a message, the message still stays in your chat history. You even get a notification saying “XYZ revoked message”.(XYZ= name of your friend).

“delete for everyone” feature doesn’t exactly does what it should. This is considered as a serious failure of “delete for everyone feature”. However, there is no way to access deleted messages in iPhone, so you at least little secure.

relatedHow to stop members in a WhatsApp group from messaging

If you have any further questions, please let us know via the comment section below.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Close